The Bad Cookie

By Bridget V. Grade 5

It was a beautiful autumn day and Maureen was very excited because her friend, Charlotte, was coming over. Maureen was thinking about all the fun things they were going to do when her mom interrupted her thought. “Now be careful when Charlotte comes over.”

“Why?” said Maureen.

“Do you remember all those other times Charlotte came over?” Maureen thought of the time when she asked for Maureen’s watch and said if she ever needed something, ask for it, and she would give it to Maureen. When Maureen asked to borrow her pencil during a test because Maureen’s was broken, she said no AND she was already done with her test! “Charlotte hates when you do things better than her.” Maureen’s mother interrupted her thoughts.

“This time it is going to be different, mom. We’re just practicing for the baking contest.”

When Charlotte came over they got out all the ingredients and started baking. They were both making their own original recipes. “Want to try one of my cookies?” Maureen asked.

“Sure.” she said. Charlotte took a bite, then made a face.

“What’s wrong?” Maureen asked.

“They’re dreadful.” Charlotte.

“Really? I thought they were really good.”

“No, no. They are all wrong, but I can give you my recipe.”

“Okay,” Maureen said sadly.

“Great. here is my recipe.”

“Thanks, I guess. I will give the recipe back to my mom.”

“Why would she want to cook something so bad? I will throw it out for you.”  Charlotte took the recipe and snuck it into her bag instead of the trash! “All taken care of. Bye!” Charlotte said with a smirk.

“Already?”

“Yep.” Charlotte shut the door behind her.

****

“Why was Charlotte baking with your recipe when I came over to play with her sister?” Maureen’s sister, Ann, asked.

“She wasn’t. She threw it out.”

“No she DID NOT. I saw it with my own eyes!” Maureen stared at the wall in disbelief.

“I can’t believe she stole my recipe.”

“Yay, that’s sorta what I was telling you the whole time!” Ann said, rolling her eyes. Maureen was furious. She was going to get even.

Maureen was laying in bed trying to think of the most evil plan ever but she had nothing. Then something popped in her head. It was brilliant.

The next day at the baking contest Maureen walked up to Charlotte’s baking station. She saw Charlotte already set up all her ingredients. Maureen switched the sugar with salt and switched the whipped cream with shaving cream and switched the vanilla extract with vinegar. She went back to her own station and began to bake her own original recipe.

When the judge tasted Charlotte’s recipe she said, “These are dreadful.”

After the contest Maureen, wearing her first place medal, walked over the Charlotte’s table and said, “I guess you were right. My cookies were dreadful…I know you stole my recipe!”

“I’m sorry. i just wanted to win and your recipe was so much better than mine so I took it.”

“You don’t have to steal from people just because you want to win. You have to earn it.”

“I’m sorry. Friends?”

“Friends.”

 

Leave a comment